Code 8 Drivers Licence Requirements

  • joub
  • Feb 25, 2024

Code 8 Drivers Licence Requirements in South Africa


In South Africa, a Code 8 driver’s licence is required to operate heavy motor vehicles, including trucks, buses, and articulated vehicles. Obtaining this licence involves meeting specific requirements and undergoing a rigorous testing process. This comprehensive guide provides an in-depth overview of the Code 8 drivers licence requirements in South Africa, including eligibility criteria, application procedures, testing details, and other essential information.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for a Code 8 driver’s licence in South Africa, individuals must meet the following criteria:

  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • Hold a valid Code 10 driver’s licence for at least two years
  • Have a clear driving record with no serious traffic violations
  • Pass a medical examination to ensure physical and mental fitness
  • Undergo a psychometric assessment to evaluate cognitive abilities and suitability for operating heavy vehicles

Application Procedures

The application process for a Code 8 driver’s licence involves the following steps:

  1. Obtain a Learner’s Licence: Apply for a Code 8 learner’s licence at a Driving Licence Testing Centre (DLTC). This requires passing a written knowledge test and an eye test.
  2. Complete Training: Enrol in an accredited driving school and complete a comprehensive training program that covers both theoretical and practical aspects of heavy vehicle operation.
  3. Submit Application: Once training is complete, submit an application for a Code 8 driver’s licence at a DLTC. The application must include proof of training, a medical certificate, and a psychometric assessment report.

Testing Process

The testing process for a Code 8 driver’s licence consists of two parts:

  1. Theory Test: A written test that assesses knowledge of heavy vehicle regulations, road safety, and vehicle mechanics.
  2. Practical Test: A driving test that evaluates the applicant’s ability to operate a heavy vehicle safely and efficiently in various traffic situations. This includes manoeuvres such as reversing, parallel parking, and driving on inclines.
Read also:  Business, Commerce And Management Sciences Past Exam Papers And Memos Grade 12


In addition to the basic Code 8 licence, drivers may also obtain endorsements for specific types of heavy vehicles, such as:

  • Code 8E: Articulated vehicles
  • Code 8C: Heavy rigid vehicles
  • Code 8D: Heavy combination vehicles

To obtain an endorsement, drivers must pass an additional practical test specific to the type of vehicle.

Renewal and Validity

Code 8 driver’s licences are valid for five years and must be renewed before the expiry date. The renewal process involves passing a medical examination and submitting an application at a DLTC.

Penalties for Non-Compliance

Operating a heavy vehicle without a valid Code 8 driver’s licence is a serious offence in South Africa. Penalties include fines, imprisonment, and the suspension or cancellation of the driver’s licence.

Additional Requirements for Professional Drivers

Professional drivers who operate heavy vehicles for commercial purposes may have additional requirements, such as:

  • Professional Driving Permit (PrDP): A permit issued by the Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC) that certifies the driver’s professional status and compliance with industry regulations.
  • Certificate of Professional Competence (CPC): A qualification that demonstrates the driver’s knowledge and skills in specific areas of heavy vehicle operation.


Obtaining a Code 8 drivers licence in South Africa is a challenging but rewarding process that requires a high level of skill, knowledge, and responsibility. By meeting the eligibility criteria, completing the necessary training, and passing the rigorous testing process, individuals can qualify to operate heavy vehicles safely and efficiently. Adhering to the requirements and regulations ensures the safety of both drivers and other road users.

Related Post :