Code 10 Drivers Licence C1

Code 10 Drivers Licence C1

Code 10 Driver’s License C1: Comprehensive Guide for South African Drivers


In South Africa, obtaining a driver’s license is a crucial step towards personal mobility and independence. The Code 10 Driver’s License C1 is a sought-after category for individuals seeking to operate medium-sized trucks and certain specialized vehicles. This comprehensive guide delves into the requirements, procedures, and essential information related to acquiring a Code 10 Driver’s License C1 in South Africa.

Eligibility Criteria

To qualify for a Code 10 Driver’s License C1, applicants must meet specific eligibility criteria set forth by the South African government. These criteria include:

  1. Age: Applicants must be at least 18 years of age.

  2. Literacy: Individuals must be able to read and write in at least one of South Africa’s official languages.

  3. Visual Acuity: Applicants must possess adequate visual acuity, including color discrimination, to ensure safe driving.

  4. Physical Fitness: Candidates must be physically fit to operate a medium-sized truck or specialized vehicle. This includes the ability to control the vehicle’s movements, maintain proper posture, and respond quickly to emergencies.

  5. Medical History: Applicants must disclose any medical conditions that may affect their ability to drive safely. These conditions may include epilepsy, diabetes, heart problems, or any other impairment that could compromise driving ability.

Application Process

  1. Learner’s License: The first step towards obtaining a Code 10 Driver’s License C1 is acquiring a learner’s license. Applicants must pass a learner’s license test, which includes a written examination and a practical driving test. The written exam covers topics such as road rules, traffic signs, and general driving knowledge. The practical driving test assesses the candidate’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and competently.

  2. Driver’s License: Once the learner’s license is obtained, the applicant must complete a specified period of supervised driving experience. This experience must be logged in a prescribed logbook and signed by a qualified driving instructor. After completing the required supervised driving hours, the applicant can apply for a driver’s license.

  3. Driving Test: The driver’s license application process involves passing a driving test, which consists of a road test and a parking test. The road test evaluates the applicant’s driving skills in various traffic conditions, while the parking test assesses their ability to park the vehicle safely and accurately.

Read also:  Key Considerations in Career Selection

Vehicle Requirements

To operate a medium-sized truck or specialized vehicle under a Code 10 Driver’s License C1, the vehicle must meet specific requirements. These requirements include:

  1. Gross Vehicle Mass (GVM): The vehicle’s GVM must not exceed 16,500 kilograms. GVM refers to the total weight of the vehicle, including its cargo and passengers.

  2. Seating Capacity: The vehicle must have a seating capacity of not more than 16 people, including the driver.

  3. Air Brakes: Vehicles with a GVM exceeding 9,000 kilograms must be equipped with air brakes. Air brakes provide improved stopping power and are mandatory for heavier vehicles.

  4. Safety Features: The vehicle must comply with all applicable safety regulations, including the presence of seatbelts, airbags, and other essential safety equipment.

Renewal and Endorsements

  1. Renewal: A Code 10 Driver’s License C1 is valid for a period of five years. To maintain its validity, the license must be renewed every five years. The renewal process involves passing an eyesight test and paying the prescribed renewal fee.

  2. Endorsements: Endorsements are additional qualifications or restrictions added to a driver’s license. For example, an endorsement may be required to operate certain specialized vehicles, such as buses or hazardous materials transporters. Endorsements are typically obtained through additional training and testing.


Obtaining a Code 10 Driver’s License C1 in South Africa is a significant achievement, opening up opportunities for employment and personal mobility. By meeting the eligibility criteria, following the application process, familiarizing oneself with vehicle requirements, and complying with renewal and endorsement regulations, aspiring drivers can successfully navigate the journey towards acquiring this coveted driver’s license.